If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: MC-0084
  • UPC: 607735008426
  • Street Date: 03/23/18
  • PreBook Date: 03/02/18
  • Label: M.C. Records »
  • Genre: Gospel
  • Run Time: 1 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2007
  • Box Lot: 40
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA & SCAN
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Marie Knight - The Gospel Truth Live

A posthumous 2007 live recording from legendary Gospel artist and partner to Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Marie Knight

Marie Knight - The Gospel Truth Live
  • List Price: $12.99  
  • Your Price: $12.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

October 19, 2007 was a warm, wet and overcast day in North Adams, MA. It was also a fitting backdrop for Marie Knight, who rose to fame singing "Didn't It Rain" with Sister Rosetta Tharpe, back in the late 1940s. She rose early that dreary morning to conduct a world music class with students on the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts campus and then headlined the school's Gospel Fest later that evening. Now, over a decade later, that revelatory performance finally sees the light of day on this brilliant compilation, The Gospel Truth Live. The timing couldn't be more perfect as the prestigious Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced in December 2017 that it would be posthumously inducting Sister Rosetta Tharpe into the hallowed hall in April 2018 as an early influence on artists ranging from Elvis Presley to Bob Dylan. In a way, it's also an acknowledgement for Knight's musical contributions since she collaborated professionally and served as a confidante with Tharpe at the height of her popularity in the early 1950s.

Track Listing

  • Introduction
  • I Belong to the Band
  • Beams of Heaven
  • The Ark Speech
  • Didn't It Rain
  • Getting Ready Speech
  • 12 Gates To The City
  • Sing Between Tears Speech
  • Up Above My Head
  • Jesus Loves Me
  • Set A Wings Speech
  • I'll Fly Away
  • I Am Light of this World
  • How I Love Jesus
  • Waking Up Early Speech
  • Lord I Feel Like Going On
  • Being Clean Speech
  • Let Us Get Together
  • Closer Walk With Thee
  • For Thine is the Kingdom

Press Quotes

This stunning 20-track release captures Knight at her very best, the result is an album that works in a way very, very few can ever hope to achieve.

     —Iain Patience, Elmore Magazine

This latest live release from a 2007 concert at the Church Street Center in North Adams, Massachusetts shows Knight in top form, belting out gospel standards she performed with Tharpe as well as a large selection of Reverend Gary Davis' material.

     —Grant Britt, No Depression


This page was created in 0.1889111995697 seconds