If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PFCD136
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 7141148050786
  • Street Date: 09/11/20
  • PreBook Date: 08/07/20
  • Label: Prima Facie »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2020
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Michael Csányi Wills & Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra - Symphony No 1

Michael Csányi Wills & Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra - Symphony No 1
  • List Price: $9.99  
  • Your Price: $9.99
  • In Stock: 1
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Award winning composer and Pianist Michael Csányi-Wills has written works ranging from chamber music to choral and orchestral works to film scores and has been composer in residence with the Welsh Sinfonia since September 2013. His recent orchestral works have been widely performed throughout the UK and commissions have taken him around Europe, Australia and the USA.

This symphony is a large scale work and is a wonderful showcase for the talented Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra which has been an integral part of the School's music making since its foundation in the late 1800s. The orchestra's membership is largely drawn from students in the School of Music, although a significant number study in the Schools of Engineering, Modern Languages, Medicine, Physics, Law, Psychology and more so this release seeks to further promote new composers and under the expert guidance of Mark Eager demonstrate that a world class recording doesn't have to be made by a musical elite but as is shown here by amateur young musicians from all over the world.

A recent review of the CD in The Times said: "The novelty that really made me excited this week was Debussy's Chinese ballet score No-ja-li, another unfinished work, originally earmarked for a 1914 London stage revue, more recently restored to life in a brilliantly effective reconstruction by Robert Orledge. Its premiere performance by the excellent Cardiff University forces is the highlight of "City of Light: New Discoveries."

Track Listing

    • Andantino
    • Scherzo
    • Sarabande
    • Con Moto

    This page was created in 0.12129187583923 seconds