If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: VINYL ALBUM
  • SKU: M1304-1
  • UPC: 4017425130416
  • Street Date: 03/08/19
  • PreBook Date: 02/01/19
  • Label: Moosicus »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 30:57 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 1957
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: US
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Modern Jazz Quartet - NDR 60 Years Jazz Edition No04

The MJQ made a stop at the broadcasting station of the Norddeutscher Rundfunk in Hanover on the 28th of October 1957.

Modern Jazz Quartet - NDR 60 Years Jazz Edition No04
  • List Price: $24.99  
  • Your Price: $24.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

In 1957 and 1958 the MJQ achieved its first major successes - particularly in Germany. The quartet appeared for the first time in Europe and played more than 80 concerts: no longer in typical jazz venues, but mainly in concert halls that were the traditionally the podiums for the classical music culture of Europe. The response of the audiences to these concerts was euphoric. People were generally surprised and fascinated at the same time by the unusual presentation with which the four MJQ instrumentalists in black dinner suits performed their "restrained". improvisational music, playing a repertoire that was seldom heard in jazz in this part of the world. And so it was on the afternoon of the 28th of October 1957 in Hanover. A special feature was that this production in the studio of the NDR-Landesfunkhaus was a repeat of a section of the concert that MJQ had given earlier in the sold-out Beethoven Hall in Hanover - and, by the way, the first studio recording with this quartet made by a German radio station of the still young ARD.

Track Listing

  • Announcement 1
  • Vendome
  • Announcement 2
  • Venice
  • Announcement 3
  • All The Things You Are
  • Announcement 4
  • Bluesology
  • Announcement 5
  • Autumn Medley (Autumn In New York, Autumn Nocturne)
  • Announcement 6
  • The Golden Striker

This page was created in 0.12879204750061 seconds