If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: VINYL ALBUM
  • SKU: MIG90781
  • UPC: 885513907813
  • Street Date: 03/09/18
  • PreBook Date: 01/05/18
  • Genre: Blues
  • Run Time: 78:26 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 1978
  • Box Lot: 12
  • Territory: US
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Muddy Waters - Live At Rockpalast: 2LP Gatefold

Seldom had Muddy Waters such a hot sound as in this recording of WDR Rockpalast on 10th Dec 1978 in Dortmund, Germany.

Muddy Waters - Live At Rockpalast: 2LP Gatefold
  • List Price: $34.99  
  • Your Price: $34.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Muddy Waters had a great ear for talent and accordingly the formation which you will hear on this DVD was one of the very best: The pianist Pinetop , the drummer Willie "Big Eyes" Smith , the bass player Calvin Jones , the two guitarists Luther "Guitar Jr." Johnson and Bob Margolin and the harmonica player Jerry Portnoy. At the Rockpalast recording on December 10, 1978 at Westfalenhalle Dortmund Muddy Waters still was at the height of his creative power, his mighty vocals and his splendid charisma on stage fascinated the audience. Muddy's guitar playing on the Fender Telecaster especially comes into full effect with his typical slow blues solos - and seldom had Muddy such a hot sound as in this tv recording of the WDR. The song selection of the evening consisted of several of his biggest hits which probably are standard discipline of each evening ("Hoochie Coochie Man", "Walkin' Thru The Park", a superb version of the macho hymn "Mannish Boy" and, of course, the immortal "Got My Mojo Workin'"), but also less performed titles like "Soon Forgotten" by St. Louis Jimmy Oden or "Country Boy", both atmospheric slow blues with slide. When the Muddy Waters Tribute Band appeared at the Rockpalast Open-Air at the Loreley on June 23, 1996 (bonus content DVD2), the pianist Pinetop Perkins could unfortunately not travel due to medical reasons and Jerry Portnoy was replaced by blues harper Carey Bell who had already played in Muddy's band in early 1970. All band members switch with the vocals and in "Gone To Main Street" The Band's Levon Helm is to be heard as a guest singer. Naturally, the repertoire consists mainly of Muddy Waters classics but also songs of Jimmy Reed, two titles that have become known through Albert King and one original composition of the drummer Willie Smith were on the set list.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Intro
  • I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
  • Soon Forgotten
  • Baby Please Don't Go
  • They Call Me Muddy Waters
  • Walkin' Thru The Park
  • Country Boy (All Night Long)
  • Kansas City
  • Caledonia
  • Disc 2:
    • Everything Gonna Be Alright
    • Mannish Boy
    • Got My Mojo Working
    • Sweet Home Chicago
    • You Can't Loose What You Ain't Had
    • You Don't Have To Go
    • Honey Bee
    • Everything Gonna Be Alright

This page was created in 0.20005202293396 seconds