If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: JNCD001
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5052442021940
  • Street Date: 12/09/22
  • PreBook Date: 11/04/22
  • Label: NYJO »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2022
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



National Youth Jazz Orchestra - She Said

The National Youth Jazz Orchestra collaborate with leading female artists, including Norma Winstone, Yazz Ahmed, Laura Jurd and Nikki Iles.

National Youth Jazz Orchestra - She Said
  • List Price: $15.99  
  • Your Price: $15.99
  • In Stock: 69
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

'She Said' is the culmination of a year-long programme at the National Youth Jazz Orchestra to remix the gender balance in jazz, the album features collaborations with leading artists including legendary vocalist Norma Winstone, trumpeter/composers Yazz Ahmed and Laura Jurd, pianist Nikki Iles and saxophonist Josephine Davies.

Through newly- commissioned music, live performance, research projects and support for emerging musicians, the project has expanded the number of works by female composers in NYJO's repertoire and championed female role models. Their intention was to feature artists whose distinctive voices can be transcribed into compositions for large ensemble and to reach into the history of women's contributions to jazz, shedding light on how the roots of this music nourish current innovation and creativity.

The project features four composers who have created a personal space in today's musical landscape, and whose musical spirit is fortified and enhanced, rather than diluted, by the big band setting. Laura Jurd, Issie Barratt, Nikki Iles and Yazz Ahmed were given an open brief: to compose freely, drawing on their imagination and particular circumstances. The resulting works are 'The Earth Keeps Spinning', 'You Do?!', 'Wild Oak' and 'Nurrquss'.


This page was created in 0.12711882591248 seconds