If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: VINYL ALBUM
  • SKU: PTV-LP088
  • UPC: 732003186183
  • Street Date: 08/30/19
  • PreBook Date: 07/19/19
  • Label: Park The Van »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 30:28 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2019
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Oh, Rose - While My Father Sleeps

Oh, Rose make their Park The Van Records debut with "While My Father Sleeps"

Oh, Rose - While My Father Sleeps
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

While My Father Sleeps by the Olympia, Washington, based band Oh, Rose, tells the complex story of family, adversity, love, and friendship. In ten songs, the record bears the soul and shares the truths of the band's frontperson and creative driver, Olivia Rose, while also serving as an homage to Rose's mother, who passed away in January of 2017. It is Rose's life's story, told under the banner of a story her mother was never able to finish. "'While My Father Sleeps' is the title of the book my mother wrote throughout her life," Rose says. "It involved her relationship with my grandfather, the way she could communicate with him through the poetry of Carl Sandburg and the writings of Truman Capote. Her storytelling always inspired me to tell my own through music. The album title and artwork serves as a bookend, the songs written between two moments. The front cover shows my mother reading to my brother and me outside the North Asheville library in the summer of 1995, the back is her headstone. Though I didn't write these songs in a state of grief, I came to know this album while I was grieving. When my mother died, I learned a new language, the language of death. At the same time, I was continuing to build strength and love within my community. My story isn't uncommon. I hope my music finds a home with those who speak these same languages." Throughout the record, it is Rose's powerful, expressive voice that carves our path, navigating a sure and delicate way from song to song. The emotion shifts and sways, a quality she attributes to the undulating nature of her past, ultimately providing a sturdy ground upon which to build. While My Father Sleeps is an album about family and friendship, beauty and love, turbulence and trauma amidst the sense of finally coming home. While My Father Sleeps is set for release August 23rd via Park The Van Records

Track Listing

  • 25, Alive
  • Believe It
  • Easy
  • You've Got Fire
  • Baby
  • Harrypotterjuana
  • Politics
  • Phoenix
  • Water
  • Be Kind To Me

Press Quotes

It's at once dark, tender, and heavy in a way reminiscent of Big Thief.

     —Gordon Taylor, Earmilk

Olivia Rose has the kind of voice that changes things. A captivating drawl that lands straight in the chest and casts shadows over the rest of the day; delicately shifting the focus, quietly pulling you away from your own reality

     —Tom Johnson, Goldflake Paint

It's emotional, raw, and a tender expression of someone's most intimate feelings in the wake of loss.

     —Claire Morales, The Grey Estates

A spectacular and honest account of the difficulties of both coping with, and emerging from, grief, Oh, Rose are throwing off the anger and ready for whatever is coming next.

     —For The Rabbits

While My Father Sleeps (Park the Van Records) is dizzying, at times enigmatic, grungy rock with distorted guitars. Songs are fiery and emotional.

     —Lucille Faulkner, The Deli SF

Olivia Rose, lead singer, has this tremendous, facilitating voice that goes from a whisper to almost a scream, while being backed by wonderful choppy guitars, steady drums, and groove-stoked bass line

     —Audio Fuzz

A surprising and wholly impressive set. Check this group out.

     —Phil King , The AU Review


This page was created in 0.099992990493774 seconds