If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • SKU: REV215-1
  • Format: LP
  • UPC: 098796021514
  • Street Date: 02/02/24
  • PreBook Date: 12/29/23
  • Label: Revelation »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 16:37 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: US


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Paint It Black - Famine

The Famine EP is the band's first recorded output in 10 years. Featuring members Dan Yemin (Lifetime) and Andy Nelson (Ceremony).

Paint It Black - Famine
  • List Price: $25.99  
  • Your Price: $25.99
  • In Stock: 88
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Since forming in 2002, Philadelphia's PAINT IT BLACK have rewritten the rules of hardcore punk with each new release. Across three full-length albums and three 7" EPs, the four- piece of vocalist Dan Yemin, bassist Andy Nelson, guitarist Josh Agran, and drummer Jared Shavelson have been crafting concise, incisive statements that meld hardcore's fury with a nuanced lyrical perspective. On Famine, the band's upcoming EP on Revelation Records, PAINT IT BLACK shows all sides of itself, returning as inspired--and inspiring--as they were a decade ago. Famine is the product of years of plotting, planning, and prepping, with the goal of making the most impactful statement possible. In many ways, Famine is a record about the blurring between history and mythology, especially as it pertains to the current moment in America. On Famine, Yemin explores the stories we grew up being told--the truths, the lies, and everything in between. Yemin's vocals, as charged as ever, sound like a decade's worth of frustration has finally boiled over, allowing him to dissect the rose-colored tellings of American history with surgical precision. Similar to this exploratory lyrical approach, the music on Famine creates richer textures out of pieces rarely found on hardcore punk albums, as distinct struts shift between pummeling pieces and melodic touches in ways that continually take the listener by surprise. Throughout the eight songs that make up Famine, PAINT IT BLACK proves that the most potent hardcore punk releases are ones that come from a space of vulnerability, honesty, and authenticity. It's what makes each moment on Famine feel vibrant and vital, just like PAINT IT BLACK has always done.



Track Listing

  • Famine
  • Dominion
  • Safe
  • Exploitation Period
  • Serf City, U.S.A
  • The Unreasonable Silence
  • Namesake
  • City Of The Dead

Bonus Materials

  • Pressed On Color Vinyl

Sales Points

  • Andy Nelson (guitar) featured in Epsiode 173 of Behind The Vinyl (https://open.spotify.com/episode/6POJC5sSpkAkzUPIoKhpte?si=4S_Yz5eFTGKVA5cmlHFsbg)
  • First new music since 2013's EP Invisible
  • Recorded in Oakland with Jack Shirley (Deafheaven)
  • Music Video for 'Famine':https://youtu.be/vKelRhLWfec?si=_VbLJDrFFn6Br2eZ
  • PR by Alexa Gallo
  • Featuring members Andy Nelson (CEREMONY) and Dan Yemin (LIFETIME)
  • Featured on the Cover of New Noise Magazine #69: https://newnoisemagazine.com/issue-69-cover-reveal-paint-it-black/
  • Listed on Brooklyn Vegan's Top 50 Punk Albums and Top 20 Favorite Hardcore Albums of 2023
  • Listed on NoEcho's Top 12 Hardcore Albums of 2023

Press Quotes

Famine is basically a lesson in how to age gracefully within hardcore. It's Paint It Black's first new record in ten years, and it comes over 30 years since Dan Yemin first started playing in notable hardcore bands, and it sounds as raw and urgent and vital as any great hardcore album should, no caveats needed.


'It's nothing short of an instant classic'

     —Petteri Pertola (Editor in Chief) https://rockfrea, https://rockfreaks.net/albums/9741

'Paint It Black's Famine might be the crown jewel in their discography.'



This page was created in 0.12753200531006 seconds