If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PFCD208
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 7141148059925
  • Street Date: 08/11/23
  • PreBook Date: 07/07/23
  • Label: Prima Facie »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Paul Corfield Godfrey - The War Of Wrath

The cycle of "epic scenes from The Silmarillion" by Paul Corfield Godfrey.

Paul Corfield Godfrey - The War Of Wrath
  • List Price: $21.99  
  • Your Price: $21.99
  • In Stock: 30
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

The cycle of "epic scenes from The Silmarillion" by Paul Corfield Godfrey, drawn from the posthumous writings of J R R Tolkien, was already the largest-scale work of classical music written in Wales in the twentieth century, and has already been recorded by Prima Facie over the course of the last five years.

Prima Facie is now pleased to release the concluding section of this work, written as recently as 2019-20, to bring to an end Tolkien's description of the history of Middle-Earth in the First Age. The text, as before, employs a wide variety of posthumously published texts by the author with the permission of the Tolkien Estate. It not only features the return of roles and singers familiar from earlier parts of the cycle, but also introduces new characters such as Elrond, Galadriel and the great mariner Earendil who will be familiar to readers of The Lord of the Rings.

All the singers are professional artists from Welsh National Opera. Reviewing last year's recording of Feanor, Marc Medwin in Fanfare magazine commented "Heretofore I have been entirely ignorant of Paul Corfield Godfrey's work. More's the pity. This is an operatic recording whose singers and the music they perform are completely in tune with the nature of the story and its themes, making me want to hear the other installments as soon as possible."

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Prologue: Aiya Earendil
  • Scene One: I Will Follow that Light
  • Scene Two: And at Times Melian and Galadriel would speak together of Valinor
  • There is Some Woe that Lies Upon You
  • Then Galadriel Spoke to Melian of the Silmarils
  • Now Much You Tell Me
  • This is a Great Matter
  • Now the World Runs Swiftly On
  • Scene Three: Then a Winter as it Were the Hoarage
  • Now When the Horns of the Hunt Grew Faint
  • Wherefore, Renegade, do you Defile the Seat of our Lord?
  • Scene Four: Earendil was a Mariner
  • It is Likely That You Will See Me Never Again
  • To the Sea
  • Beneath the Moon and Under Star
  • Scene Five: A Silmaril of Feanor
  • Through Hopeless Night She Came to Him
  • San Ninqueruvisse Lutier...
  • Disc 2:
    • Scene Six: Through Evernight he Back was Borne
    • Hail Earendil!
    • He Tarried There From Errantry
    • Shall Mortal Man Step Living Upon the Undying Realm
    • A Ship then New They Built for Him
    • Surely that is a Silmaril that shines
    • But on Him Mighty Doom was Laid
    • Scene Seven: But Morgoth Looked Not for the Assault That Came Upon Him
    • Then the Sun Rose and the Host of the Valar Prevailed
    • And Morgoth Himself the Valar Thrust through the Door of Night
    • Scene Eight: Yield Up Now these Jewels
    • Thus it Came to Pass That the Silmarils Found Their Long Homes
    • Scene Nine: Interlude
    • Alas for the Weakness of the Great!
    • Three Rings for the Elvenkings Under the Sky
    • Epilogue: Aiya Earendil
    • A Wind in the Grass!
    • Now the Proud Elms at Last Begin to Quail
    • At Night the Elves Dance
    • Bare has our Realm Become
    • I Would Not Seek the Burning Domes and Sands

This page was created in 0.098849058151245 seconds