If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: COBRA0072
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 8713897904550
  • Street Date: 09/11/20
  • PreBook Date: 08/07/20
  • Label: Cobra Records »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2020
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Pauline Oostenrijk - The Notes Are Swallows

Pauline Oostenrijk - The Notes Are Swallows
  • List Price: $19.99  
  • Your Price: $19.99
  • In Stock: 36
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

First of all, this CD brings the complete oeuvre for oboe solo by Dutch composer Bernhard van den Sigtenhorst Meyer (1888-1953) out of the shadows. These atmospheric, colourful and meditative compositions were mostly written for Jaap Stotijn and his son Haakon Stotijn, both icons of the legendary Dutch Oboe School. Pauline Oostenrijk, who is considered to be the last Dutch oboe soloist cherishing this tradition of a songful, expressive and clear voiced oboe sound, is the designated person to record this repertoire.

Being a pianist as well as an oboist, Pauline is delighted to be able to alternate these oboe pieces with some completely unknown early piano works of the same composer: musical portraits of flowers and birds that perfectly match the rustic atmosphere of the oboe pieces. The musical collection is completed with a few piano works of Dutch composer Alexander Voormolen (1895-1980), with titles as The Tiny Fish and The First Swallow.

Since completing her study Dutch Language and Culture at a later age, she has felt the strong desire to connect Dutch music and Dutch literature. For this she chose the poems of Dutch poet Johan Andreas der Mouw (1863- 1919); in an unparalleled manner, his sonnets describe landscapes, nature and animals and express the deeply felt wonder and stillness that nature can evoke. A selection of eleven poems (together with their beautiful translations into English by John Irons) have been chosen to be printed in the booklet.

A unique opportunity to combine these musical and poetic representations of the Dutch landscape, which complement and reinforce each other so wonderfully, and present them to an international audience!

In 1999 Pauline Oostenrijk received the Netherlands Music Prize, which is the highest State Award for classical music.

Track Listing

  • Moderato
  • Roses
  • Andante
  • A Group Of Chickadees In The Woods
  • Allegretto Pastorale
  • Wisteria In The Monestary Garden
  • Andante Con Moto
  • The Water Lily
  • Allegretto Giocoso
  • The Tiny Fish
  • Adagio
  • Night Birds
  • Allegro
  • The Swan
  • Allegretto Grazioso
  • To The Ugly Duckling
  • Lento
  • The First Swallow
  • Cornfield In The Sun
  • Tranquillo
  • The Enchanted Wood
  • Ritornello. Allegro
  • The Wind And The Mills
  • Pastorale

This page was created in 0.12653708457947 seconds