If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: VINYL ALBUM
  • SKU: SGL1626-1
  • UPC: 774355162613
  • Street Date: 05/18/18
  • PreBook Date: 04/13/18
  • Label: Songlines »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 40:49 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2017
  • Box Lot: 40
  • Territory: WORLD EX CA,BE,FR,DE
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Peggy Lee - Echo Painting

Vancouver cellist's new 10-piece project features veterans and younger improvisers in a suite of original compositions.

Peggy Lee - Echo Painting
  • List Price: $23.99  
  • Your Price: $23.99
  • In Stock: NO
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

In 2015 Coastal Jazz and Blues Society in Vancouver, BC commissioned Peggy Lee to compose a suite of music for a new 10-piece ensemble. The intent was to create an ensemble including some of the most active and interesting improvisers on the Vancouver scene, both veterans and younger players, all highly accomplished artists and leaders of their own projects. Echo Painting was premiered at the 2016 Vancouver International Jazz Festival. With many colors to draw upon, the music is multi-layered, texturally varied and melodically rich. From driving rhythmic vamps to incendiary improvisation to achingly beautiful melodic compositions, Peggy Lee takes anything she touches to a deeper and more artful level creating "music that combines the timeless and the otherworldly in equal measure" (Georgia Straight). The band is: Peggy (cello), Brad Turner (trumpet & flugelhorn), Jon Bentley (soprano & tenor sax), John Paton (tenor sax), Roderick Murray (trombone), Meredith Bates (violin), Cole Schmidt (electric & acoustic guitar), Bradshaw Pack (pedal steel), James Meger (electric & acoustic bass) and Dylan van der Schyff (drums, percussion & drum machine).

Track Listing

  • Incantation
  • Out On a Limb
  • A Strange Visit
  • The Hidden Place
  • Hymn
  • Painting Echoes
  • Snappy
  • Nice Collection
  • Weather Building
  • End Piece

Sales Points

  • For fans of: Carla Bley, Wayne Horvitz, Charlie Haden’s Liberation Music Orchestra

Press Quotes

Canadian cellist Peggy Lee has been steadily building an impressive discography. Invitation [...] encompasses a broad stylistic range, revealing influences as disparate as folksy Americana and exotic Afro-pop--though Lee's harmonically sophisticated arrangements expertly balance composed and improvised elements, yielding a cohesive sum greater than its parts...a compelling, multilayered statement from an artist on the rise.

     —Troy Collins, All About Jazz

Albums like Invitation are a rare breed...an accessible, eclectic mix of tender harmonies and angular improvisation that touches on a number of stylistic influences yet remains a strong, cohesive experience.

     —Francois Marchand, Vancouver Sun

...an enchanting mix of avant-garde jazz and modern folk and classical musics. This is music that triggers brain synapses while also sounding pretty...creating a tableau of hot and cold, pastoral and scarred...

     —Dave Sumner, Bird is the Worm


This page was created in 0.13409805297852 seconds