If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: VINYL ALBUM
  • SKU: BAF18047
  • UPC: 5397102180477
  • Street Date: 07/06/18
  • PreBook Date: 06/01/18
  • Label: Bear Family Records »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 34:57 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Petards - The Petards

Second album from the German beat group, originally released in 1968, reissued on vinyl

Petards - The Petards
  • List Price: $29.99  
  • Your Price: $22.49
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

After the success of their debut album 'A Deeper Blue' in late 1967, The Petards were unstoppable. 1968 was to be another decisive year. Sigi Loch, then young record company boss in Munich, discovered the band and signed them to his label Liberty. The Schrecksbach band consisting of the brothers Klaus (vocals, guitar, keyboards) and Horst Ebert (vocals, guitar, piano), Roger Waldmann (bass, vocals) and Arno Dittrich (drums) was now in prominent company, because Amon Düül II, Krokodil and The Can were also under contract with Sigi Loch.In July, The Petards recorded their first single for Liberty, Pretty Liza b/w Rainbows & Butterflies at the Munich Trixi recording studio, directed by Sigi Loch. A respect success, of course from the pen of the two Ebert brothers. The four musicians had long since become stars in their Hessian homeland, and intensive touring has also made them famous in the rest of Germany. In 1968 alone, The Petards played 270 gigs, including a handful of shows in what was then Czechoslovakia, where the band was enthusiastically received. Their performance in Pilzen was even broadcast live on Czech radio! The band still lived with their roadies in the Ebert family home in Schrecksbach, the band's rural headquarters.Shortly before the CSSR tour in October 1968, the band returned to the Trixi recording studio in Munich to record their second album under the direction of Sigi Loch. The band had already tried out many of the songs live at their countless live shows, so the recording sessions were fast and professional. The Trixi recording studio was already known at that time for its great technical equipment, and the band enjoyed audibly trying out the versatile possibilities of the existing equipment. 'The Petards' was a significant move forward compared to the debut 'A Deeper Blue', which affected both the songs (of course all written by the Ebert brothers) and the performance in the studio... read more on www.bear-family.de


Track Listing

  • Flittermouse
  • Never More
  • Out In The Rain
  • Girl, Where Are You Going Now'
  • The Fountain
  • Tonight
  • Mockingbird Crying
  • Some Sunny Sunday Morning
  • Bridal Ballad
  • Pretty Liza

This page was created in 0.14393591880798 seconds