If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: DVD
  • SKU: WNRD2588
  • UPC: 5018755258817
  • Street Date: 10/07/14
  • PreBook Date: 09/02/14
  • Label: WIENERWORLD »
  • Genre: Folk
  • Run Time: 85 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2014
  • Director: Robert Elfstrom
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Pete Seeger - A Song And A Stone

Intimate doc of the human rights activist - includes concert footage and features Johnny Cash, Don McLean and more

Image not available
  • List Price: $19.95  New Price!
  • Your Price: $19.95
  • In Stock: NO
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

This classic documentary made by director Robert Elfstrom shows Pete Seeger as a fighter for human rights through songs such as I Dreamed I Saw Joe Hill Last Night and If I Had a Hammer; as environmentalist with a sequence showing him navigating the Clearwater sloop to clean up the Hudson River; as an unyielding anti-Vietnam War activist, who denounced the war most famously, with Waist Deep in the Big Muddy and with the poignant Where Have All the Flowers Gone? Elfstrom's film was made when Seeger was still blacklisted by major media organisations because of his opposition to the war in Vietnam and one scene shows Pete with Johnny Cash, when Cash, who admired him tremendously, defied his network to feature him on The Johnny Cash Show. The film culminates in Seeger leading an anti-war march on Washington by singing We Shall Overcome, emotionally revealing the passion for peace, justice and human dignity that drove his art. Along the way, we are treated to renditions of songs that define an era: Turn, Turn, Turn, Wasn't That A Time, Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall, Walking Down Death Row, among many others. Besides Johnny Cash, Don McLean, Lester Flatt and Rev Kirkpatrick are among those who sing with Pete.

Track Listing

  • I Dreamed I Saw Joe Hill Last Night
  • If I Had a Hammer
  • Waist Deep in the Big Muddy
  • Where Have All the Flowers Gone
  • We Shall Overcome
  • Turn, Turn, Turn
  • Wasn't That A Time
  • Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
  • Walking Down Death Row

Sales Points

  • Also features Johnny Cash, Don McLean, Rev FD Kirkpatrick, Lester Flatt, Toshi Seeger, Charles Seeger and more
  • Filmed in 1972, this biographical documentary follows folk musician-activist Pete Seeger over the course of eighteen months, showing him in concert, interviews and previously filmed footage
  • Includes his performances of songs that he either wrote or rediscovered, and that were made famous by other singers, including Where Have All the Flowers Gone and Turn, Turn, Turn

This page was created in 0.13923811912537 seconds