If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: ALBCD039
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5060158190393
  • Street Date: 10/04/19
  • PreBook Date: 08/30/19
  • Label: Albion Records »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Run Time: 40 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2011
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Pierce & Brynmor & Farrington - Ralph Vaughan Williams: Albion's Journey

In part a sampler of previous recordings, but with a first recording of 'The Robin's nest' and spoken word items from RVW, Howells and Tippett

Pierce & Brynmor & Farrington - Ralph Vaughan Williams: Albion
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: 2
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

This album largely comprises a selection of tracks from eleven of the recordings issued by Albion Records between 2013 and 2019, including two albums that were nominated for Grammy awards. However, there are seven tracks that are new. On six spoken-word tracks we hear the voices of Vaughan Williams himself, Herbert Howells, Michael Tippett and Roy Douglas. We learn something of the composer's musical education, his views on folk song, his working methods, and the affection felt towards him by many of those who were close to him. Also, by popular demand, the album begins with the first recording of The Robin's Nest, which is the first piece known to have been written by Vaughan Williams, in his sixth year. Albion Records specializes in world-premiere recordings, mainly but not exclusively of works by Vaughan Williams, and many of these have been fairly early works. Despite that, this album features works written in the reign of every monarch from Queen Victoria to Queen Elizabeth II, covering an 80 year span from 1878 to 1958. Our previous compilation, issued in 2015, ALBCDSAMP Albion's Vision (still available), set out Albion's early successes. This new release combines music with the spoken word to trace elements of the composer's lifelong journey. Just as Pilgrim (or Christian in Bunyan's novel and the 1943 radio play) is traveling towards the Celestial City, Vaughan Williams, much influenced by Blake, was on his own journey, in search of a New Albion. It concludes with the composer talking about the Pilgrim's battle with Apollyon, followed by our 1943 recording of Christian's passage through the waters, to be serenaded with Alleluias by the Heavenly Hosts. The cover is based on an unpublished photograph taken by Ursula Vaughan Williams on their honeymoon in 1953, on the shores of Lake Garda.

Press Quotes

'A rewarding compilation which opens windows onto some of the less familiar music by Vaughan Williams'

     —John Quinn, Musicweb


This page was created in 0.12198781967163 seconds