If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: SMCR5171D
  • UPC: 5013929087132
  • Street Date: 06/08/18
  • PreBook Date: 05/04/18
  • Label: CHERRY RED »
  • Genre: R & B
  • Run Time: 80 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US & CANADA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Pointer Sisters - The Pointer Sisters/That's A Plenty: Expanded Editions

SoulMusic Records is very proud to present the reissue of the first two classic albums by the legendary Pointer Sisters

Pointer Sisters - The Pointer Sisters/That
  • List Price: $24.99  
  • Your Price: $24.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Expanded editions of the first two classic albums by the legendary Pointer Sisterswith bonus tracks (single edits of charted singles from each LP) a vivid reminder of the original quartet's unique sound and style, prior to their global success of the '80s as dance and pop hitmakers. By the time they signed to US West Coast boutique label Blue Thumb, the Oakland, California quartet of sisters - Anita, Bonnie, June and Bonnie - had begun their journey from the church where their father was a pastor to backup vocalists for diverse artist such as Elvin Bishop, Cold Blood and Taj Mahal. A brief stint at Atlantic Records where they cut a couple of singles preceded the recording of their self-titled debut, produced by David Rubinson in San Francisco. With its heady mixture of swingin' jazz pieces ('Cloudburst', 'Jada'), gospel-flavoured blues ('River Boulevard') and covers of Koko Taylor's 'Wang Dang Doodle' and the Lee Dorsey, Allen Toussaint-penned, 'Yes We Can Can' (a US top 20 pop and R&B hit), THE POINTER SISTERS became one of 1973's best-selling gold-certified albums, showcasing the family group's imaginative harmonies, with cover art depicting the quartet in '40s-styled garb. 1974's THAT'S A PLENTY (another gold album) was equally eclectic in regards its song selection, from the fast-and-furious 'Salt Peanuts' (a Dizzy Gillespie piece) to the head-boppin' blues 'Grinning In Your Face' (with a young Bonnie Raitt on guitar), on to bluesy torch song, 'Black Coffee', a revival of 'Steam Heat' and the Gamble & Huff-co-penned R&B, 'Love In Them There Hills'. The single 'Fairytale' became a US Top 20 pop and a Top 40 country hit, and winning the quartet their first Grammy Award (for 'Best Country Performance').

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Yes We Can Can
  • Cloudburst
  • Jada
  • River Boulevard
  • Old Songs
  • That's How I Feel
  • Sugar
  • Pains And Tears
  • Naked Foot
  • Wang Dang Doodle
  • Yes We Can Can (Single Version)
  • Wang Dang Doodle (Single Version)
  • Disc 2:
    • Bangin' On The Pipes / Steam Heat
    • Salt Peanuts
    • Grinning In Your Face
    • Shakey Flat Blues
    • That's A Plenty / Surfeit, U.S.A.
    • Little Pony
    • Fairytale
    • Black Coffee
    • Love In Them There Hills
    • Steam Heat (Single Version)
    • Love In Them There Hills (Single Version)
    • Fairytale (Single Version)

This page was created in 0.12983894348145 seconds