If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: MAA-1056
  • UPC: 734956105624
  • Street Date: 08/10/18
  • PreBook Date: 07/06/18
  • Label: MAMA Records »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 75:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Randy Brecker & Mats Holmquist - Together (With Umo Jazz Orchestra)

Randy Brecker is back in LEAD Large Jazz Ensemble style w/ Mats Holmquist and his big writing - with UMO Jazz Orchestra

Randy Brecker & Mats Holmquist - Together (With Umo Jazz Orchestra)
  • List Price: $15.99  
  • Your Price: $15.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Randy Brecker has been shaping the sound of music for decades. His performances have graced hundreds of albums by a wide range of artists from James Taylor, Bruce Springsteen, Chaka Khan, George Benson and Parliament-Funkadelics to two Grammy winners on Summit & MAMA Records.

These arrangements all have little (and not so little) twists and turns that keep you on your toes at all times. There are 3 Chick Corea tunes, 'Crystal Silence', 'Humpty Dumpty' and 'Windows' masterfully re-worked by Mats, Two Mats 'impressions' or minimalistic versions of so-called "Standards' 'Stella By Starlight' (we both have daughter named Stella by the way), and 'All the Things you Are' which are re-imagined with delightful results, the beautiful Ray Evans- Jay Livingston ballad 'Never Let Me Go' and then three Mats original compositions: 'One Million Circumstances', 'Always Young' and 'Summer and Winter' each quite challenging in their own way.

I think you'll really enjoy this CD there are absolutely no dull moments, you are going to be taken on the ride of a lifetime, so enjoy it and let me know when you come back to Earth!

Randy Brecker

This CD features 3 compositions and one arrangement written in the late eighties; "One Million Circumstances", "Summer and Winter", "Always Young", "Never Let Me Go" - three arrangements of Chick Corea compositions; "Windows", "Crystal Silence", "Humpty Dumpty" -and 2 new re-compositions based on famous standards; "My Stella" (Stellla by Starlight") and "All My Things" ("All the Things You Are"). In other words three different periods are represented; late eighties, beginning of the 2000s (Chick Corea) and the present (re-composition of standards).

UMO Jazz Orchestra is the only professional orchestra in Finland specialised in jazz and new rhythm-oriented music. The big band of 16 musicians plays about 80 concerts every year in Finland and abroad. The orchestra plays a diverse range of modern music that is on the pulse of the times.

Track Listing

  • One Million Circumstances
  • Summer and Winter
  • Never Let Me Go
  • Windows
  • All My Things
  • Crystal Silence
  • Humpty Dumpty
  • My Stella
  • Always Young

Sales Points

  • For fans of Randy Brecker and outstanding Large Ensemble recordings, with Randy Brecker out front! Monumental performances!

Press Quotes

'...a delectable banquet of big-band jazz designed to assuage almost anyone's appetite.'


'...Randy Brecker...stunning, poignant, breathtaking...'

     —Ken Franckling, UPI


This page was created in 0.13899803161621 seconds