If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ACTRCD9122
  • UPC: 824046912222
  • Street Date: 08/05/22
  • PreBook Date: 07/01/22
  • Label: Acrobat »
  • Genre: Comedy
  • Run Time: 142 mins
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Year of Production: 2022
  • Box Lot:
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Redd Foxx - Classic Stand-up: The Early Years Collection 1946-60

Some of the material is risqué and close-to-the-edge for its time, as was his style

Redd Foxx - Classic Stand-up: The Early Years Collection 1946-60
  • List Price: $19.99  
  • Your Price: $19.99
  • In Stock: 68
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Redd Foxx, real name John Elroy Sanford, became well-known in the USA as a stand-up comedian during the 1950s, developing a raunchy night-club act on the east coast and finding fame when Dinah Washington invited him to perform in Las Vegas. He was seen, and signed, by Dootsie Williams of Dootone Records, for whom he released a string of highly-successful 'live' albums. He later had a successful TV career, starring in the situation comedy "Sanford & Son", with overt racial humour that helped redefine the genre of black situation comedy. This 3-CD collection of selected live recordings from his early years with Dootone features the entire "Laff Of The Party Vol. 1" album, a number of tracks from his "Best Of" album culled from other "Laff Of The Party" volumes, plus the complete "Burlesque Humour", "Side Splitter Vols 1 & 2" and "Sly Sex" albums, along with one side of the album "Have One On Me". Also included are a couple of his early singles for Savoy when he was a jump blues singer. As the comedy albums were all 'live' recordings, most of them comprise complete continuous sides of LPs, with no separate tracks. Some of the material is risqué and close-to-the-edge for its time, as was his style. It's a collection which offers a window on a strand of humour which is maybe not widely known, but has a substantial following among aficionados.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Let's Wiggle A Little Woogie
  • Shame On You
  • Backward Conscious
  • The Sneezes
  • Song Plugging
  • The New Soap
  • The Honeymooners
  • The Politician
  • The Jackasses
  • The Race Track
  • Jealous Bartender
  • Women Over 40
  • I Turned To Stone
  • The Nut And The Flat Tire
  • Chloe
  • My Greatest Thrill
  • Disc 2:
    • Grape Skins
    • The Soldiers
    • Take Your Life
    • Custard Pie
    • Fun In Crazy House
    • Burlesque Humour Side 1
    • Burlesque Humour Side 2
    • Side Splitter Vol. 1 Side 1
    • Side Splitter Vol. 1 Side 2
    • Disc 3:
      • Side Splitter Vol. 2 Side 1
      • Side Splitter Vol. 2 Side 2
      • Sly Sex Side 1
      • Sly Sex Side 2
      • Have One On Me Side 1

This page was created in 0.10176491737366 seconds