If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: ALBCD055
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5060158190553
  • Street Date: 07/14/23
  • PreBook Date: 06/02/23
  • Label: Proper Music Distribution »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Richard Standen & Frederick Stone - The First Songs Of Travel

1954 Westminster recital by Richard Standen (bass-baritone), accompanied by Frederick Stone (piano).

Richard Standen & Frederick Stone - The First Songs Of Travel
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: 39
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

This pioneering 1954 Westminster LP recital by Richard Standen (bass-baritone), accompanied by Frederick Stone (piano), has been remastered for Albion Records by Ronald Grames in excellent sound and issued on ALBCD055. This was the first recording of the (then) entire Songs of Travel and includes premiere recordings of five of the songs. We now know the full cycle of nine songs, but only eight of them were published in the composer's lifetime. The ninth song was not found until after the composer's death, some four years after this recording was made. Standen's performance of Songs of Travel was highly regarded by Vaughan Williams.

Track Listing

  • Songs of Travel: The Vagabond
  • Songs of Travel: Bright Is The Ring Of Words
  • Songs of Travel: The Roadside Fire
  • Songs of Travel: Let Beauty Awake
  • Songs of Travel: Youth And Love
  • Songs of Travel: In Dreams
  • Songs of Travel: The Infinite Shining Heavens
  • Songs of Travel: Whither Must I Wander
  • Songs of Travel: Silent Noon
  • Four Poems by Fredegond Shove: The Water Mill
  • Linden Lea
  • Three Salt Water Ballads: Port of Many Ships
  • Three Salt Water Ballads: Trade Winds
  • Three Salt Water Ballads: Mother Carey
  • Six Sea Songs: II. Limehouse Reach
  • Six Sea Songs: VI. Sweethearts and Wives
  • Songs of the Sea: I. Drake's Drum
  • Songs of the Sea: V. The Old Superb
  • Three Masefield Ballads: I. Sea Fever
  • Four By the Clock
  • A Christmas Carol
  • Two True Toper's Tunes: I. Captain Stratton's Fancy

This page was created in 0.092382907867432 seconds