If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: HCR30
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5060217670286
  • Street Date: 12/08/23
  • PreBook Date: 11/03/23
  • Genre: Classical
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Riot Ensemble & Patricia Alessandrini - Lecons De Tenebres

London's Riot Ensemble present Lecons de tenebres, a landmark portrait CD of Patricia Alessandrini.

Riot Ensemble & Patricia Alessandrini - Lecons De Tenebres
  • List Price: $15.99  
  • Your Price: $15.99
  • In Stock: 9
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

London's Riot Ensemble present Lecons de tenebres, a landmark portrait CD of Patricia Alessandrini. Covering the most significant instalments of her creative output across the last fifteen years, Lecons de tenebres showcases Riot Ensemble's extensive experience in experimental performance, bringing us five works that fuse concert music aesthetics with electronic processing. Often starting with a pre-existing piece of music, PatriciaAlessandrini utilises electronic processes to distort and filter audio recordings to find radical musical deviations from the source, transcribing the results for new instrumental forces. Hermusic engages with the western musical canon, critiquing stylistic approaches to representation, interpretation, and perception. The music that emerges from this process feels as though it's meaning is submerged beneath water, with precise musical gestures seemingly wrapped in layers of fog or obscured by a series of veils, as if reaching us from far away, shrouded in dustor cobwebs from the archives of musical history. Alessandrini studied composition and electronics at the Conservatorio di Bologna, Conservatoire de Strasbourg, and IRCAM, and holds two PhDs, from Princeton University and the Sonic Arts Research Centre (SARC) respectively. Her principal composition teachers were Ivan Fedele, Paul Koonce, Tristan Murail, and Thea Musgrave. Her works have been presentedat Agora, Archipel, Ars Musica, Musica Strasbourg, Musiques Demesurees, Mostly Mozart, Sonorities, and Miso Music (Lisbon), and performed by ensembles including Accroche Note,Arditti Quartet, Ensemble Aleph, Ensemble Alternance, Ensemble InterContemporain, l'itineraire, and Ensemble Vortex.

Track Listing

    • Song of Alma
    • Funeral Sentences
    • De profundis clamavi (hommage a Alban Berg)
    • Nachtgewachse
    • Lecons de tenebres

    This page was created in 0.1253080368042 seconds