If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: BCD17712
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 4000127177124
  • Street Date: 09/08/23
  • PreBook Date: 08/04/23
  • Label: Bear Family Records »
  • Genre: R & B
  • Run Time: 78:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Box Lot:
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Roy Milton - Rocks

Roy Milton - Rocks
  • List Price: $20.99  
  • Your Price: $15.74
  • In Stock: 140
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

-A brimful CD compilation dedicated to the important R&B pioneer Roy Milton in the continuously updated 'Rocks' series on Bear Family RecordsĀ®. -Milton is considered one of the originators of the jump blues genre on the U.S. West Coast. -The album features his rockin'est, fast numbers recorded with his great band between 1946 and '63 for such record labels as Specialty, DooTone, King, Warwick, Cenco and Thunderbird. -Musical highlights include Red Light, Milton's Boogie, Hop, Skip And Jump, Junior Jives, You Got Me Reeling And Rocking and Rocking Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu. -His 1955 Specialty single What Can I Do is reissued here for the first time on CD. -Johnny 'Junior' Rogers, Roy Gaines and Roy Montrell are three of the outstanding guitarists. -Expertly narrated by Bill Dahl, plus lots of photos and illustrations in the substantial booklet and recordings carefully remastered for this edition. Any comprehensive list of postwar rhythm and blues pioneers has to position Roy Milton and his band, The Solid Senders, right near its top. The Los Angeles-based Milton was a rock-solid drummer whose rich, full-bodied vocals were perfect for the swinging stormers that comprise Bear Family's 'Roy Milton Rocks.' His combo, anchored by Camille Howard's rippling boogie piano and accentuated by a punchy small horn section (and as time went by, Johnny 'Junior' Rogers' dazzling guitar work), helped define the jump blues genre, which in turn provided an indelible blueprint for the first wave of rock and roll. This compilation spans the band's incredible career from their early days of recording in L.A. with the madly jumping Red Light to their hitmaking heyday on Specialty Records (Milton's Boogie, Hop, Skip, And Jump, Oh Babe!, and the jaw-dropping Rogers-led instrumentals Junior Jives and Junior Jumps are among the highlights) through his mid-'50s hookups with DooTone, a.m.o.

Track Listing

  • You Got Me Reeling And Rocking
  • Wakin' Up Baby
  • Oh Babe
  • Hop, Skip And Jump (Cenco)
  • Succotash
  • My Blue Heaven
  • Baby, Don't Do That To Me
  • Little Boy Blue
  • I Want To Go Home
  • Rocking Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu
  • That's The One For Me
  • Baby You Don't Know
  • It's Later Than You Think
  • Bam-A-Lam
  • Junior Jumps
  • One Zippy Zam
  • Train Blues
  • Milton's Boogie
  • Fools Are Getting Scarcer
  • Tell It Like It Is
  • A Bird In The Hand
  • Red Light
  • Hop, Skip And Jump (Specialty)
  • I'm A Woman
  • Big Fat Mama
  • Playboy Blues
  • Junior Jives
  • Driveway Blues
  • When I Grow Too Old To Dream
  • Baby I'm Gone
  • What Can I Do

Sales Points

  • 1-CD (Digipak) with 36-page booklet, 31 tracks. Total playing time approx. 78 min.

This page was created in 0.10451507568359 seconds