If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: CRD211
  • UPC: 091454021123
  • Street Date: 11/05/02
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Chiaroscuro Records »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 69:28 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1979
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: WORLD


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Ruby Braff & Ralph Sutton - R&r

Easily recommended to fans of small-group swing and trad

Ruby Braff & Ralph Sutton - R&r
  • List Price: $9.99  
  • Your Price: $9.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

During 1979-1981, the great stride pianist Ralph Sutton recorded an extensive series of albums for the tiny Chaz label. Included in the releases were a quartet set with cornetist Ruby Braff, bassist Jack Lesberg, and drummer Gus Johnson, and a duet project with Braff. All of the Sutton dates were elusive and out of print for years, until Chiaroscuro began reissuing some of these valuable sets. This CD has all 11 of the selections from the quartet album and eight out of the 12 duets; hopefully the remaining four duos will be reissued in the future. Braff and Sutton both had the knack of hinting at earlier greats while still sounding very much like themselves. In fact, those who are familiar with the cornetist will have no trouble identifying him within a few notes. Among the 19 songs that are happily swung are such gems as "Shoe Shine Boy," "Sweethearts on Parade," "You Can Depend on Me," "Sunday," "I Would Do Anything for You," and "Dinah." While never wandering too far from the melodies, the two lead voices consistently come up with plenty of fresh ideas and always show their enthusiasm and affection for the vintage music. Easily recommended to fans of small-group swing and trad.

Track Listing

  • Shoe Shine Boy
  • What Is There To Say
  • Tain't So Honey, Tain't So
  • Sweethearts On Parade
  • I Ain't Got Nobody
  • You Can Depend On Me
  • Sunday
  • Big Butter And Egg Man
  • I Wished On The Moon
  • I'm Crazy 'Bout My Baby
  • Little Rock Getaway
  • (I Would Do) Anything For You
  • Get Out And Get Under The Moon
  • Think Well Of Me
  • Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
  • Tain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do
  • Royal Garden Blues
  • Deep Summer Music
  • Dinah

This page was created in 0.12400197982788 seconds