If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: CM030422
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 875531021233
  • Street Date: 03/04/22
  • PreBook Date: 01/28/22
  • Label: Cellar Live »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 67:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2021
  • Box Lot: 150
  • Territory: WORLD EX JP
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Sam Kirmayer - In This Moment

Standing on the shoulders of the Montréal jazz guitarists who came before him , Kirmayer mines the depths of his city's strong jazz lineage.

Sam Kirmayer - In This Moment
  • List Price: $12.99  
  • Your Price: $12.99
  • In Stock: 32
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

This recording, coalescing around Kirmayer's marvelous guitar playing, band leading abilities with a medium-sized jazz aggregation, as well as his well-developed compositional prowess makes a powerful artistic statement indeed. "I really love the sextet sound," states Kirmayer, "particularly the playing and writing of Benny Golson, Woody Shaw, and such recent manifestations as the 'One for All' band. That said, there is not a lot of guitar present within many of the bands working in this style and so," in a nod to the adage 'necessity is the mother of invention' continues Kirmayer, "I realized that if I was going to hear my guitar within this context, I'd have to write myself in." Which is exactly what he did! Of note throughout is how expressively Kirmayer conveys his deep and thorough knowledge of what musicians often refer to as "the tradition," while simultaneously putting across forward thinking modernity. For me it is this: Kirmayer's ability to reside, play with and put into flux the liminal space that exists between the present and some upcoming and inevitable, yet undefined, future musical direction that situates this young guitar and compositional talent both in this moment, and beyond.

Track Listing

  • The Turnout
  • Cross Purpose
  • Sleight Of Hand
  • Blues For Proskurov
  • Afterthought
  • The New Same Old
  • In This Moment
  • Lost In The City
  • Quixote
  • Soliloquy

This page was created in 0.093081951141357 seconds