If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ZCCD046
  • UPC: 823564688824
  • Street Date: 12/08/17
  • PreBook Date: 11/03/17
  • Label: Zip City »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 50 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1975
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: US CA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Santana - The Golden Child

Mid-1970s Recording Of Santana At Their Most Experimental

Santana - The Golden Child
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Having made a major breakthrough following their legendary performance at Woodstock, Santana released a string of wildly successful albums, and by the mid-1970s were undertaking a period of experimentation. Broadening their horizons from the scorching brand of Latin rock with which they made their name, the group began to incorporate more jazz and funk influences into their sound. This trend was first apparent on Welcome, released on 9th November 1973. The avant-garde sounds on Welcome were difficult for some fans to grasp, but the record still reached a respectable No. 25 on the Billboard albums chart, eventually going Gold. Welcome was followed in 1974 by the magnificent live album Lotus, recorded at the Koseinenkin Hall in Osaka, Japan across the 3rd and 4th July 1973. This in turn was succeeded by Borboletta in October 1974, which brought further new ideas into the fray as Carlos took a more of a minimalist approach with his guitar, favouring percussion, saxophone and keyboards to set the mood. Further line-up changes also occurred, most notably when keyboardist and vocalist Leon Patillo joined the group. The album outperformed its predecessor, reaching No. 20 on the Billboard chart and also achieving Gold in the US and Silver in the UK. The release of Borboletta was followed by extensive touring in the US and Japan throughout 1974 and 1975. The recording featured on this CD is taken from the group's performance at the Rynearson Stadium in Ypsilanti, Michigan, on 25th May 1975. Broadcast in excellent audio quality over FM radio, the set features a wide range of Santana classics - including 'Black Magic Woman', 'Oye Como Va' and 'Incident At Neshabur' - as well as the previously unreleased 'Time Waits For No One'. With the band on top form, this release remains an essential addition to any Santana collection and a glorious example of Santana live in the mid-1970s.

Track Listing

  • Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen
  • Oye Como Va
  • Treat/Time Waits For No One
  • Give And Take
  • Incident At Neshabur
  • Savor/Soul Sacrifice

This page was created in 0.13119196891785 seconds