If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: CDBRED662
  • UPC: 5013929166233
  • Street Date: 07/07/15
  • PreBook Date: 06/02/15
  • Label: CHERRY RED »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 40 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2015
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: US & CANADA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Sarah Cracknell - Red Kite

Red Kite is the much-anticipated new solo album by Saint Etienne's lead singer Sarah Cracknell.

Sarah Cracknell - Red Kite
  • List Price: $18.99  
  • Your Price: $18.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

It's fanfared by new single 'Nothing Left To Talk About', a duet with guest vocalist Nicky Wire of the Manic Street Preachers. Musically, Red Kite has a sophisticated, pastoral feel, drawing on classic 60s pop with less of a dance music influence than Saint Etienne. Sarah has co-written all the songs bar one cover version, 'The Mutineer'. Recorded at Big Pink, Oxfordshire and in Cardiff in winter 2014 and early 2015, the album has been co-produced by Carwyn Ellis (Colorama). Sarah launches her new record with a handful of low-key dates within intimate venues across mid-June, followed by festival appearances at Latitude and Port Elliot. The belated follow-up to her 1997 album Lipslide, Red Kite is being promoted with a major marketing campaign across all media. Red Kite is Sarah's first recorded outing since Saint Etienne's 2012 album Words And Music.



Track Listing

  • On The Swings
  • Nothing Left To Talk About
  • In The Dark
  • Ragdoll
  • Underneath The Stars
  • Hearts Are For Breaking
  • Take The Silver
  • The Mutineer
  • I Close My Eyes
  • It's Never Too Late
  • I Am Not Your Enemy
  • Favourite Chair

Press Quotes

Like Saint Etienne, it's quite conscious of its antecedents, from the pastel '60s pop Saint Etienne's perennially besotted with, to the decidedly English folk of Sandy Denny and Nick Drake. In Cracknell's discography, though, the album stands apart, pastoral where Lipslide was glossy, homespun where Saint Etienne were sophisticated.


This 12-song set embodies a quieter type of revisionism, based in quirky orchestration and folk-flecked acoustic instruments, but it's unerringly melodic throughout.


Sweet, often sad narrative-based songs sung over equally melodic electronic instrumentals.

     —MTV Iggy


This page was created in 0.15500402450562 seconds