If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ADDCD3251
  • UPC: 824046325121
  • Street Date: 07/06/18
  • PreBook Date: 06/01/18
  • Label: ACROBAT »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 210 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Sarah Vaughan - The Early Years 1944-48

Described by music critic Scott Yanow as the "possessor of the most wondrous voices of the 20th century"

Sarah Vaughan - The Early Years 1944-48
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Sarah Vaughan was one of the illustrious coterie of female vocalists who spanned the genres of jazz, big band music and sophisticated pop during the post-war era to provide some of the finest music of their times, not only interpreting the Great American Songbook and putting their own individual stamp on it, but continuing to perform top class new material through the musical upheavals of subsequent decades. Described by renowned music critic Scott Yanow as the "possessor of one of the most wondrous voices of the 20th century" she performed and recorded consistently through to her demise in 1990. This great-value 49-track collection focuses on her early years as she established her reputation performing with various orchestras and bandleaders, as well as making her first solo recordings and having her first chart successes, before she joined Columbia Records in early 1949. It features performances with some of the greats of the era, including Billy Eckstine, Dizzy Gillespie, Teddy Wilson, Dickie Wells Tadd Dameron, Lester Young and others, as she recorded for several different labels - Continental, Guild, Musicraft, Crown, Gotham and Hot Record Society - plus 'live' recordings. It includes her first Billboard chart entries in 1948 with "It's Magic" and "Nature Boy". It's an entertaining scene-setter for what was a glittering career to come, and underlines that even in these early years she had a highly developed and distinctive talent, for which this anthology is a fine showcase.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Signing Off
  • Interlude [A Night In Tunisia]
  • No Smokes Blues
  • East Of The Sun
  • Don't Blame Me
  • Lover Man
  • What More Can A Woman Do '
  • I'd Rather Have A Memory Than A Dream
  • Mean To Me
  • Time And Again
  • I'm Scared
  • You Go To My Head
  • It Might As Well Be Spring
  • All Too Soon
  • We're Through
  • A Hundred Years From Today
  • If You Could See Me Now
  • I Can Make You Love Me
  • You're Not The Kind
  • My Kinda Love
  • You're Blase
  • I've Got A Crush On You
  • I'm Thru With Love
  • Body And Soul
  • Penthouse Serenade [When We're Alone]
  • Disc 2:
    • Don't Worry 'Bout Me
    • Time After Time
    • September Song
    • I Cover The Waterfront
    • Ghost Of A Chance
    • Tenderly
    • Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child
    • I Can't Get Started
    • Trouble Is A Man
    • Everything I Have Is Yours
    • Don't Blame Me
    • Love Me Or Leave Me
    • I Get A Kick Out Of You
    • I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter
    • The One I Love Belongs To Somebody Else
    • I Feel So Smoochie
    • The Man I Love
    • It's You Or No One
    • It's Magic
    • What A Difference A Day Made
    • Gentleman Friend
    • Once In A While
    • How Am I To Know'
    • Nature Boy

This page was created in 0.19407987594604 seconds