If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ADDCD3308
  • UPC: 824046330828
  • Street Date: 08/09/19
  • PreBook Date: 07/05/19
  • Label: ACROBAT »
  • Genre: Country
  • Run Time: 143 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2019
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Spade Cooley - The Spade Cooley Collection 1945-52

Bandleader and fiddle player Spade Cooley, the self-styled "King Of Western Swing",

Spade Cooley - The Spade Cooley Collection 1945-52
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Bandleader and fiddle player Spade Cooley, the self-styled "King Of Western Swing", was a notoriously colourful character who worked in western movies with Roy Rogers before leading one of the biggest country orchestras of its kind, attracting massive audiences to his shows in Los Angeles. He became popular on radio television and racked up a string of hits in the mid-'40s until popular tastes changed and his career declined in the early '50s. This great-value 54-track 2-CD set comprises selected A and B sides from his releases on the Okeh, Columbia, RCA and Decca labels during this period, representing about half of his entire recorded output in this time. It includes his most famous recording, the No. 1 country hit "Shame On You" along with his other Top 10 country hits "A Pair of Broken Hearts", "I've Taken All I'm Gonna Take From You", "Detour", "You Can't Break My Heart" and "Crazy 'Cause I Love You", many of them featuring his long-time star vocalist Tex Williams and including one notable recording with Dinah Shore. Along with Bob Wills, Spade Cooley was among the best-known and most popular exponents of Western Swing, and this highly entertaining anthology will underline exactly why.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Shame On You
  • Pair Of Broken Hearts
  • Forgive Me One More Time
  • I've Taken All I'm Gonna Take From You
  • Detour
  • You Can't Break My Heart
  • Crazy 'Cause I Love You
  • Three Way Boogie
  • Heartaches, Sadness And Tears
  • Oklahoma Stomp
  • You Better Do It Now
  • It's Dark Outside
  • Minuet In Swing
  • Bogg's Boogie
  • You Never Miss The Water (Till The Well Runs Dry)
  • Spadella
  • Troubled Over You
  • Cow Bell Polka
  • All Aboard For Oklahoma
  • Spanish Fandango
  • I Guess I've Been Dreaming Again
  • Steel Guitar Rag
  • Whistle Bait
  • Hide Your Face
  • Yodeling Polka
  • Topeka Polka
  • Disc 2:
    • Big Chief Boogie
    • Fickle Woman
    • Texas Steel Guitar
    • You'll Rue The Day
    • Swinging The Devil's Dream
    • Four Fiddle Polka
    • Call Me Darling, Do
    • Texas Playboy Rag
    • Flop-Eared Mule
    • Wake Up, Susan
    • Ida Red
    • You Can't Take Texas Out Of Me
    • The Last Roundup
    • Wagon Wheels
    • Lucky Leather Breeches
    • Honky Tonkin'
    • Hillbilly Fever
    • Mountain Boys Have Fun With Mountain Girls
    • 9/10ths Of Tennessee River
    • Chew Tobacco Rag
    • Tuesday Two-Step
    • Three Fiddle Rag
    • Hitsitty Hotsitty
    • Down Yonder
    • Horse Hair Boogie
    • The Cowboy Waltz
    • Carmen's Boogie
    • One Sweet Letter From You

This page was created in 0.096572875976562 seconds