If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO111-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 617026011127
  • Street Date: 03/13/01
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Ambient/Experimental
  • Run Time: 144 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2001
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NA,GB,ASIA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Steve Roach - Early Man

The master of space and time altering soundworlds creates a spellbinding look into our primordial unconscious memory.

Steve Roach - Early Man
  • List Price: $21.99  
  • Your Price: $21.99
  • In Stock: 5
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Steve Roach – the master of space and time altering atmospheric soundworlds – has created another spellbinding look into our primordial unconscious memory bank.

The music is best described as primeval innerspace deep ambient. early man dreams in an ancient landscape of bubbling pools and marshlands, verdant arroyos and monolithic rock formations. Cave paintings and primitive memories come to life in a slow soul-dance of evolutionary magic. The accolades from press and listeners alike tell that early man belongs to Roach’s classic body of work which includes Dreamtime Return, Origins, The Magnificent Void and Midnight Moon.

Disc one moves through six different zones that conjure up ancient atmospheres of elemental soundworlds. Occasional distant and subdued primordial rhythms call one to the next place of dreaming. The sonic archeology continues with disc two moving deeper into the substrata of time and memory. Elements from disc one are decomposed and reformed to create a different perspective on another ancient day.

In Steve’s words: “This soundtrack was created for my most distant ancestor. The image of one lone, wandering early man reoccurred throughout the creation of the music long before the title. With my years of travelling in the dreamtime sound currents, this chapter of my work took on a unique sound and concept. I wanted to create a sound that felt ancient and worn smooth by time. I wanted to keep a subdued energy throughout, a sense of movement and discovery tempered by the elements over the eons. So much of today’s information and music calls for our attention with a full bandwidth. As I started excavating what would become early man, the idea of removing certain frequencies in order to let the ear hear differently became central to the project. It really took on the feeling of an archeological dig as I sifted through various soundworlds to uncover the core of early man.”

2CD in jewel box.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Early Dawn
  • Early Man
  • Begins Looking Skyward
  • Walking Upright
  • Hunting & Gathering
  • Flow Stone
  • Disc 2:
    • Slow Dissolve
    • Walking Upright Ii
    • Fossil And Fern
    • Mastodon
    • Elemental
    • Late Dawn
    • Timeline
    • Carbondate
    • Below Always

This page was created in 0.10227394104004 seconds