If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: BCD17567
  • UPC: 5397102175671
  • Street Date: 09/07/18
  • PreBook Date: 08/03/18
  • Label: Bear Family Records »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 77:29 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



That'll Flat Git It, Vol. 31

CD DigiPac (4-sided) with 52-page booklet, 34 tracks, playing time 77:29 minutes.

  • List Price: $20.99  New Price!
  • Your Price: $15.74
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

- Including the first recordings by George Hamilton IV, John D. Loudermilk and Billy 'Crash' Craddock as well as many more artists from the Carolinas. - Booklet with never before seen photos and information on the Colonial label. - Carefully restored and re-mastered recordings. - DeLuxe packaging with extensive liner notes and in-detail discographical information. Colonial Records was established in 1951 by Orville Campbell in the city of Chapel Hill, adjacent to the University of North Carolina. From this collegiate environment and beyond Campbell pulled talent to record and release an eclectic mix of pop, bluegrass, comedy and good old rock 'n' roll for his small but prolific record label. The Colonial la-el existed until 1965 scoring several minor hits, spawning the musical careers of several soon-to-be famous musical artists and providing entertainment for a teen aged audience in the Carolinas and beyond. As it corresponds to the concept of Bear Family's 'That'll Flat Git It!' series, only the rockin'est sides from the Colonial catalog were chosen for this release. And these sides can compete with the best in the genre! Featured herein is the original version of 'Sittin' In The Balcony' by its author and originator, John D. Loudermilk (here as Johnny Dee.) Please, listen to the original version of the song alongside the later hit version of Eddie Cochran. Could you really tell us which version is the original and which version is the copy? Then there is Wake Up (Little Boy Blue) by the mysterious Franklin Brothers, a recording that is so rare that until recently it was considered non-existent and never appeared in any discography. These are the stories record collectors dream of! Many more previously uncomped artists are on board here for the first time, such as E.C. Beatty, The Bluenotes, Henry Wil-on, The Goldtones and many more. read more on: www.bear-family.de

Track Listing

  • George Hamilton IV - If You Don't Know
  • E.C. Beatty - Tarzan
  • Bill Craddock & The Blue Notes - Birddoggin'
  • Johnny Dee - Sittin' In The Balcony
  • The Franklin Brothers - Wake Up (Little Boy Blue)
  • Grady Lewis - Runaway Lover
  • E.C. Beatty - Little Blue Eyes
  • The Blue Notes feat. Doug Franklin - Mighty Low
  • Johnny Dee - Somebody Sweet
  • Allan & The Flames - Winter Wonderland
  • Henry Wilson & The Blue Notes - Are You Ready
  • Hoke Simpson with Ken, Ralph, Roy & Jerry - Mountain Dew Rock
  • E.C. Beatty - Ski King
  • Ebe Sneezer & The Epidemics - Asiatic Flu
  • The Franklin Brothers - So Real
  • The Goldtones - High Dive Into Love
  • Joe Tanner - The Battle
  • E.C. Beatty - Ugh! Ugh! Ugh!
  • Johnny Dee - A-Plus In Love
  • The Bluenotes - You're A Tiger
  • Doug Harrell - I've Got News
  • The Franklin Brothers - My Little Girl
  • Johnny Dee - It's Gotta Be You
  • George Hamilton IV - I've Got A Secret
  • E.C. Beatty - Let Her Go Daddieo
  • The Goldtones - The Oriental Shake
  • Ebe Sneezer & The Epidemics - That's All I've Got
  • The Franklin Brothers - Day Dreaming
  • E.C. Beatty - I'm A Lucky Man
  • Doug Franklin - The New Midnight Special
  • Henry Wilson & The Blue Notes - Mighty Low
  • E.C. Beatty - This Great Society
  • E.C. Beatty - Slow Myself Away
  • E.C. Beatty - Ole Joe

This page was created in 0.17577314376831 seconds