If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: BCD17604
  • UPC: 5397102176043
  • Street Date: 12/18/20
  • PreBook Date: 10/16/20
  • Label: Bear Family Records »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 79:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2020
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



That'll Flat Git It! Vol.35: Rockabilly & Rock 'n' Roll From The Vaults

1-CD (Digipak) with 28-page booklet, 35 tracks. Total playing time approx. 79 min.

  • List Price: $20.99  
  • Your Price: $15.74
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

-Another great compilation in our CD series with label portraits! -Just like all its forerunners, this album works as a perfect rockabilly and rock & roll jukebox. -Once again in focus: Mercury Records' high-quality catalog, first introduced in parts as 'That'll Flat Git It! Vol.11' (BCD16101) by Bear Family in the '90s. -Unbridled classics of the '50s by a young Conway Twitty, Eddie Bond and Narvel Felts as well as rare gems by Curtis Gordon, Orville Couch, Royce Porter or James O'Gwynn. -Comprehensive booklet with biographies of each artist - written by Bill Dahl from Mercury's hometown Chicago - and rare photos and illustrations. Founded in 1945, Chicago's Mercury Records rapidly accrued major label status and grew into a full-service label, its massive roster encompassing everything from blues and R&B to country and jazz and a wealth of pop (the logo was a leader in covering R&B hits for the pop market). Mercury also signed a small army of quality rockabilly and rock and roll artists during the mid-to-late 1950s, and they're the focus of this bountiful collection. Blistering classics by a pre-fame Conway Twitty, Memphis mainstay Eddie Bond, and the still-active Narvel Felts are on board, along with rare gems by Curtis Gordon (his torrid 'Draggin'' appears without the usual startling reverb effects), Orville Couch, Royce Porter, James O'Gwynn, Charlie Walker, leather-lunged George Young, and swamp pop greats Rod Bernard, Jerry Raines, and Roy Perkins (Mercury had excellent contacts in southern Louisiana). Eddy Bell & The Bel-Aires' rollicking 'The Masked Man (Hi Yo Silver)' hailed from the label's Windy City backyard, but the label spared no expense in bringing in sizzling rockers from all over the country - as this compilation excitingly attests!

Track Listing

  • Conway Twitty - Shake It Up
  • George Young - Can't Stop Me
  • Eddie Bond & The Stompers - Baby, Baby, Baby (What Am I Gonna Do)
  • Johnny Jay - I'm Gonna Keep It
  • Ben Hewitt - My Search
  • James O'Gwynn - Easy Money
  • Curtis Gordon - Rock, Roll, Jump And Jive
  • The LaDell Sisters - Rockin' Robert
  • Jape Richardson & The Japetts - Crazy Blues
  • Royce Porter with The Kounts - Good Time
  • The Voxpoppers - Ping Pong Baby
  • Gary Shelton - Maybe Later, Baby
  • Conway Twitty - I Need Your Lovin'
  • The Playboys - Don't Do Me Wrong
  • Roy Perkins - Drop Top
  • Dave 'Diddle' Day - Blue Moon Baby
  • Eddie Bond & The Stompers - I've Got A Woman
  • Curtis Gordon - Sittin' On Top
  • Tommy Mitchell - Juke Box, Help Me Find My Baby
  • Jimmy Edwards - My Honey
  • Charlie Walker with The Four Pals - I'll Never Let It Show
  • Narvel Felts - Cry, Baby, Cry
  • Jackie Cray - I Want You Baby
  • The Counts - Shake This Town
  • Curtis Gordon - Draggin' (without echo)
  • Jerry Raines - Dangerous Redhead
  • Rod Bernard - Let's Get Together Tonight
  • Ray Ethier - Slave Girl
  • Orville Couch - Downtown
  • Conway Twitty - Maybe Baby
  • Freddy Robinson - Five Feet Of Lovin'
  • Eddy Bell & The Bel-Aires - The Masked Man (Hi Yo Silver)
  • The Half Brothers - My Foolish Fling
  • Frank Dalton & The Dalton Gang - Cruised
  • The Voxpoppers - The Last Drag

This page was created in 0.10120701789856 seconds