If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: BCD17685
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 4000127176851
  • Street Date: 09/08/23
  • PreBook Date: 08/04/23
  • Label: Bear Family Records »
  • Genre: Country
  • Run Time: 157:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Box Lot:
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



The Brother Boys - On The Honky Tonk Highway With The Brother Boys: New Hillbilly Music

The Brother Boys - On The Honky Tonk Highway With The Brother Boys: New Hillbilly Music
  • List Price: $20.99  
  • Your Price: $15.74
  • In Stock: 244
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

-Bear Family Records® presents the Brother Boys, an Americana act from East Tennessee founded in the late 1980s by Ed Snodderly and Eugene Wolf, still active these days. -The individual style mix of classic country, folk, old-time, bluegrass, blues, rockabilly, gospel, and singer-songwriter pop stubbornly resists any pigeonholing and still sounds ahead of its time. -Described by the band itself as 'New Hillbilly Music,' the Brother Boys carry musical traditions from the last century into the modern day. -The album includes nearly all of the tracks from the 1988 debut album, a host of tracks from the two albums originally released on Sugar Hill, as well as eight unreleased live and radio recordings and selections from the 2021 comeback album. Whether in concert or on recordings, The Brother Boys - bandleaders Ed Snodderly and Eugene Wolf and their various bandmates - for more than three decades have created music reflecting the influence of several roots music styles while remaining original, true to their own sound. Deeply rooted in the past yet ahead of their time, The Brother Boys have been overlooked precisely because their music is not easily categorizable. In 1988, Snodderly, Wolf, and some bandmates recorded the group's eponymous debut album for their own label, New Hillbilly Records. The Brother Boys were steeped in the histories of several musical genres, with a repertoire that drew from - but did not imitate - classic country, folk, old-time, bluegrass, blues, rockabilly, gospel, and singer-songwriter pop. What rendered The Brother Boys' music distinctive was its organic blend of ingredients: Snodderly's and Wolf's authoritative lead vocals and adventurous 'brother duo'-style harmony singing; older but not overly familiar standards mixed with Snodderly's evocative original songs; as well as deft and daring acoustic and electric guitar playing from Snodderly with skilled instrumental support from a merry band of string and percussion wizards.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Wanna, Wanna, Wanna
  • Blue From Now On
  • The Diamond Stream
  • Majestic
  • The First Time
  • Loose Talk
  • (You’ve Got The Look Of A) Perfect Diamond
  • Tango Till You're Sore
  • Two Men
  • Blue Days, Black Nights
  • Town That Never Sleeps
  • My Shoes Keep Walking Back To You
  • Black Fifty Ford
  • Nickel Plate Road
  • I'm No Longer In Your Heart
  • Jordan Am A Hard Road To Travel
  • Small Southern Town
  • Pinto Pony
  • The Great Atomic Power
  • Gonna Row My Boat
  • Kiss The Dream Girl
  • Alone With You
  • Blue Guitar
  • Darkest Day
  • Satellite Shack
  • Come On In (And Make Yourself At Home)
  • Crazy Heart
  • Heartaches Meet Mr. Blues
  • Disc 2:
    • Pearlie Mae
    • Band Box
    • Moonshine Grin
    • What's The Calling For
    • Those Two Blue Eyes
    • When The Day Is Done
    • Tell Me What You Want Me To Do
    • Strange
    • Let's Shake Loose
    • Twist You Up
    • I'll Rise When the Rooster Crows
    • Then and Only Then
    • Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven
    • Conversation With Death
    • The Ramshackle Shack
    • Crazy Arms
    • I Just Roll Along
    • In The Shadow Of Clinch Mountain
    • Memphis Shakedown
    • I Can't Tell You Anymore (What I Need)
    • Shade And River Time
    • Sweet Riverside
    • Goodbye

Sales Points

  • 2-CD (Digisleeve) with 36 page booklet, 51 tracks. Total playing time approx. 157 min.

This page was created in 0.1110827922821 seconds