If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: LP
  • SKU: NRTLP008D
  • UPC: 5013929360815
  • Street Date: 05/24/19
  • PreBook Date: 04/19/19
  • Label: Cryptic Corp »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 150 mins
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2019
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD EX EUR & JAPA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



The Residents - Eskimo: Deconstructed [40th Anniversary 2LP/CD Set]

A unique unwrapping of one of the great artistic achievements of 20th Century music.

The Residents - Eskimo: Deconstructed [40th Anniversary 2LP/CD Set]
  • List Price: $29.99  
  • Your Price: $29.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of 'Eskimo' The Residents present a unique collection of the album's constituent parts, and encourage their public to remix and rework the album. Including over seventy individual musical elements, chants, loops and sound effects recorded on location by the group in the mid-late 1970s, plus a backing CD of Arctic wind noise, this remarkable set provides unprecedented insight into the three years' recording and construction of a legendary album, and an opportunity for fans to "walk around inside a masterpiece, the viewing angles almost infinite". Conceived by The Residents partly in response to their satisfaction with the successful 'I AM A RESIDENT' project and their fans' musical abilities, and with their own love of interfering with the music of their heroes in mind, 'Eskimo (Deconstructed)' represents a first. Never before has a band peeled back the layers of one of their finest works in such microscopic detail, and made those highly intimate elements available to the public to re-interpret as they choose. Sure, it's a classic, and this is undoubtedly sacrilege, but consider this a chance to screw with The Residents' music just like they've been screwing with everybody else's for almost fifty years now. 'Eskimo (Deconstructed)' is the latest in a series of archival Residents reissues that will continue throughout 2019 and beyond. Look out for 'American Composers Series', 'God In 3 Persons' and 'Cube-E' sets, coming soon.


Watch Trailer »

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Mysterious Chant #1
  • Ga Ga Ga
  • Neki Neki
  • Catch 'em Up
  • Mysterious Chant #2
  • Ohh Wit Ash Stomp
  • Something Interrupts the Chatter
  • Hunt Field Recording
  • Crank
  • Meat
  • Mysterious/Indigenous Song
  • North Western Poem #1
  • Residents Poem #1
  • Dodgers All The Way
  • Break
  • Commercial Chat
  • Studio Argument
  • North Western Poem #2
  • Squeeze
  • Indigenous Chat #1
  • Two Amused Hunters Impersonate the Residents
  • Asked
  • Driven
  • An Amused Hunter Impersonates Player
  • Life
  • We Don't Know How To Prey
  • Eskimo' Theme
  • Synthesiser Pad #1
  • Six Inuit Musicians Impersonate The Residents
  • Birth Field Recording Extract
  • Album Finale Version One
  • Ancient Whale Chant
  • A Musician Plays Kooa For Us (At Daybreak)
  • Unknown Indigenous Poem & Synthesiser
  • Kooa Musician At Daybreak Take 2
  • The Residents Rehearse An Old Northwestern Play
  • Album Finale Version Two
  • Disc 2:
    • Commercial Rhythm & Pooeye
    • Rounding Up Hunters
    • Wounded and Dragged Ashore
    • Floating Downstream
    • An Excited Welcome
    • Segook and Ooluksak Rehearsal
    • The Hunt Accelerates Towards A Kill
    • Possibly Another Birth
    • A Communal Clapalong
    • Angakok Sermon
    • The Residents Greeted One By One
    • Atseak Orchestra
    • Grumbling
    • Bells And Whistles Rhythm
    • Drums and Horns
    • Sedrak Piece Draws A Crowd
    • The Lone Lookout
    • Train Ride
    • Creaking In The Wind
    • Synthesiser Pad #2 and Whistlin'
    • Water's Edge Ritual and Overdubs
    • Drone Piece #1
    • Tape Speed Play Improv
    • Twinklz
    • Dogs
    • Drone Piece #2
    • Whistle While You Walk
    • Water's Edge Field Recording
    • Synth Bang
    • Synth Swell
    • Bell
    • Sonar Communications
    • Low Synth Rises Up
    • We All Stomp
    • Somebody's Abstract Piece

Sales Points

  • Also includes one hour CD of Arctic wind backgrounds
  • A unique unwrapping of one of the great artistic achievements of 20th Century music.
  • The classic ambient masterpiece deconstructed - over seventy loops, chants, musical fragments and sound effects extracted from the original multitrack tapes and spread across four sides of vinyl.
  • Re-construct and re-mix 'Eskimo' at your leisure!
  • Limited Edition - 750 total for the US

This page was created in 0.25671601295471 seconds