If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: LP
  • SKU: JUMP158LP
  • UPC: 760137337515
  • Street Date: 02/07/20
  • PreBook Date: 01/03/20
  • Label: Jump Up Records »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 38 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2020
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



The Skalars - Skoolin' With The Skalars

St Louis soulful ska darlings' 1996 Moon Ska NYC debut on vinyl for the first time.

The Skalars - Skoolin
  • List Price: $22.99  New Price!
  • Your Price: $22.99
  • In Stock: -3
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

St Louis soulful ska darlings' 1996 Moon Ska NYC debut on vinyl for the first time. The Skalars (originally led by Isaac Green), are a female-fronted band, one of only a handful of women-led full time groups found in the 90's third wave scene. Even more uniquely, not only are three-quarters of their excellent brass section women, but all the band's singers also double as horn players. As for Isaac Green himself, he is the band's skanking and crowd-pleasing MC. The Skalars are as indebted to the American R&B scene as they are to ska's Jamaican originators, and the Brits that amped up the genre during the Two Tone years. The band's choice of cover songs reflect those first two influences, diving back into early-'60s R&B for the Marvelettes' "Beechwood 4-5789" and Wynonie Harris' "Bloodshot Eyes," and back to the Caribbean for the Heptones' "I Love You." The Skalars' originals swing from Two Tone skankers with R&B undertones to the big band jazz that reflects their love of the Skatalites, and on occasion, as with the instrumental "Special K," more Latin-flavored styles. But for each of the high energy ska numbers, there are also slower, sweeter reggae songs, like the haunting "High School" or the riff driven, bass heavy "Don't Count." It's a unique and stylistic mix, and the band deliver it with true style.

Track Listing

  • Spoiled Brat
  • Beechwood 4-5789
  • Beechwood 4-5789
  • Puppet Lover
  • Don't Count
  • Bloodshot Eyes
  • Special K
  • The Row
  • Phat Steaks
  • High School
  • Sitting
  • I Love You
  • Junbok

This page was created in 0.12594890594482 seconds