If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ECLEC22635
  • UPC: 5013929473546
  • Street Date: 07/06/18
  • PreBook Date: 06/01/18
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 80 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US & CANADA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Trio - Incantation: the Dawn Recordings 1970-1971

Trio - Incantation: the Dawn Recordings 1970-1971
  • List Price: $24.99  
  • Your Price: $24.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce the release of a remastered 2 CD anthology comprising all the recordings made for the Dawn label by the ground-breaking Progressive Jazz ensemble, THE TRIO. Coming together in 1969, The Trio featured JOHN SURMAN (baritone & soprano saxes, bass clarinet), BARRE PHILLIPS (bass) and STU MARTIN (drums). All three musicians had earned fine reputations for excellence in the Jazz world and had a desire to push musical boundaries in their work and had a desire to appeal to the emerging "progressive" music scene. Performing on bills with rock acts such as Captain Beefheart and Yes, The Trio signed to Pye Records' newly formed progressive imprint, Dawn Records in 1970. Their self-titled double album was produced by Peter Eden and released in July of that year. Aimed squarely at a progressive audience, The Trio was critically acclaimed. The 1971 album Conflagration saw the three musicians joined by a host of celebrated musicians for the sessions at Pye Studios in Marble Arch, London. Notable guests included Chick Corea, Dave Holland, John Marshall and Mark Charig among others. This new 2 CD anthology has been re-mastered from the original Dawn Records' tapes and includes a booklet with an essay by Sid Smith featuring exclusive interviews with JOHN SURMAN, BARRE PHILLIPS and producer PETER EDEN.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Oh Dear
  • Dousing Rod
  • Silver Cloud
  • Incantation
  • Caractacus
  • Let's Stand
  • Foyer Hall
  • Porte Des Lilas
  • Veritably
  • In Between
  • 6's And 7's
  • Green Walnut
  • Disc 2:
    • Billie The Kid
    • Dee Tune
    • Centering
    • Joachim
    • Drum
    • Conflagration
    • Malachite
    • Nuts
    • 6's And 7's
    • B
    • Afore The Morrow

This page was created in 0.20760798454285 seconds