If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO396-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 617026039626
  • Street Date: 08/11/23
  • PreBook Date: 07/07/23
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Gothic
  • Run Time: 53:24 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Box Lot: 45
  • Territory: NA,GB,ASIA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Unto Ashes - Orchids Grew Here

A resplendent tapestry of apocalyptic folk, gothic, and neoclassical influences. With a cover of Madonna's "Frozen." Mystery, elegance, & melancholy.

Unto Ashes - Orchids Grew Here
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: 21
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Genres: Neofolk, Darkwave, Neoclassical
RIYL: Qntal, Estampie, Audra, Love is Colder Than Death

Inspired by a resplendent tapestry of apocalyptic folk, gothic, and neoclassical influences, Unto Ashes' first album in 4 years is an enigmatic excursion into existential terror; of bliss and tragedy; of love and beauty; of hope in the face of universal void. To quote Aeschylus (whose words appear in the first song), Orchids Grew Here is tantamount to an exploration into "the awful grace of God."

The twelve illuminated sound-paintings are both enchanted and enchanting; they venture into a future of non-existence from a garden of withered orchids to interstellar black holes.

The synergy of core members Michael Laird, Bret Helm, and Ericah Hagle is expressed in soft, at times unsettling vocals, wandering through panoramas of passion, darkness, and introspection. Lead vocalist Laird has a soft, redolent voice conjuring the spirit of Nick Drake. Helm's distinctive voice is reminiscent of Peter Murphy, and Hagle's complex, ethereal harmonies appear prominently as soloist on "Starfish."

Unto Ashes was founded in 1997 by multi-instrumentalist Laird. Through his work as an antiquarian bibliographer, he discovered many obscure texts that continue to inspire. This album offers passages from Aeschylus, the founder of tragedy (Greece, 525 BCE - 465 BCE), Christina Rossetti (England, 1830-1894), Edwin Arnold (England, 1832-1904), and Anna Akhmatova (Russia, 1889-1966).

A less obscure text is found on the indelible cover of Madonna's "Frozen," reimagined with waves of acoustic guitar, fervent vocals from Helm, and an Arabic-sounding cello duet.

With uncanny alchemy of sparse instrumentation ranging from the medieval (hurdy-gurdy, viola da gamba, dulcimers) to the modern (analog synthesizers, tape loops, etc.) and bewitching vocals, Unto Ashes delivers mystery, elegance, melancholy, and -- ultimately -- triumph.

• CD in 4-panel digipak
• Limited edition: 300


Track Listing

  • Even in Our Sleep (Aeschylus)
  • Calendar Leaves
  • A Song of Rain
  • I Will Never Die
  • Let My Heart Remain Cold
  • I Became a Ghost Today
  • Orchids Fade
  • Light of Asia (Book VIII)
  • Frozen (Madonna cover)
  • Passing
  • Starfish
  • Last Toast

This page was created in 0.33170890808105 seconds