If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: ALBCD011
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5060158190119
  • Street Date: 06/01/10
  • PreBook Date: 04/27/10
  • Label: Albion Records »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Run Time: 40 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2009
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Vaughan Williams: Symphony No.6: The Wasps Overture/Ireland: Prelude: The Forgotten Rite

First performance of the two-piano arrangement of Vaughan Williams's Symphony No. 6 in E minor, played by Alan Rowlands and Adrian Sims.

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No.6: The Wasps Overture/Ireland: Prelude: The Forgotten Rite
  • List Price: $15.99  
  • Your Price: $15.99
  • In Stock: 17
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

World-premire recordings of piano arrangements of works by Vaughan Williams (including the Sixth Symphony) and Ireland. Recorded by Alan Rowlands and Adrian Simms at Ottery St. Mary in 2009 and hailed as "historic and indispensable" by Simon Heffer. Vaughan Williams valued the opinions of close friends on his new works, even if he did not always follow the advice given. In the early years, his first wife Adeline, fellow composers George Butterworth and Gustav Holst and many others were invited to a 'play-through' of any new work. Such first hearings were arranged for piano, or two pianos, and central to many of these performances in the 1940s and 1950s was Michael Mullinar (1895 - 1973). In July 1946 at the composer's home in Dorking, Michael Mullinar first played the Sixth Symphony three times. He had an uncanny power of being able to suggest Ralph's orchestration and each of the many times he played the work it had been with unflagging excitement and inspiration. Because of that day, Ralph dedicated the symphony to him. Alan Rowlands (1925-2012) was born into a musical home in Swansea and early acquired a love of English music, particularly Vaughan Williams, Delius and Ireland. But it was chemistry that won him a scholarship to Jesus College, Oxford, where he remained for seven years. He then obtained a scholarship to the Royal College of Music, where Angus Morrison introduced him to John Ireland. This led to a series of visits to Ireland's home, where he often received the benefit of the composer's advice and was selected by him to record his complete piano music for Lyrita. Alan taught at the RCM for some thirty-five years. Adrian Sims studied piano with Alan Rowlands and Phyllis Sellick at the Royal College of Music, graduating in 1982 after winning the Chappell Gold Medal, its top piano prize. As a result, of contracting Repetitive Strain Injury, he turned to a career in psychology in 1987

Press Quotes

'This is Vaughan Williams's own clear voice, a work grown out of the rubble of the bloodiest war in history. Never has that been so clear as it is in this historic and indispensable, recording.'

     —Simon Heffer, Daily Telegraph


This page was created in 0.094398021697998 seconds