If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 752725039727
  • Street Date: 09/07/18
  • PreBook Date: 08/03/18
  • Label: RER MEGACORP »
  • Genre: Progressive Rock
  • Run Time: 100 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: US & CANADA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Vitor Rua & The Metaphysical Angels - When Better Isn't Quite Good Enough

key figure of Portuguese creative music (and the founder of the hit band GNR), whose career spans a multitude of styles

Vitor Rua & The Metaphysical Angels - When Better Isn
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Vítor Rua is one of the key figures of Portuguese creative music, with a career that covers a multitude of idioms and styles - from rock, as the founder of the hit band GNR (AKA Grupo Novo Rock), through minimalism, folk, punk, thrash metal, electronic and country music to free improvisation (29 years with Telectu, his duo with pianist and musicologist Jorge Lima Barreto). In this world he has worked (amongst others) with Sunny Murray, Gerry Hemingway, Han Bennink, Paul Lytton, Barry Altschul, Gunter Sommer, Chris Cutler, Eddie Prevóst, Louis Sclavis, Jac Berrocal, Carlos "Zíngaro" and Elliott Sharp. In the other world, since 1987, he has focused more on classical contemporary composition, writing for soloists, chamber groups and orchestras. Interpreters include (amongst others) John Tilbury, Giancarlo Schiaffini, Daniel Kientzy, Peter Rundel, Christian Brancusi and the Remix Ensemble). He has also written five operas. CD #1 is a series of overdubbed improvisations by Portugese guitar virtuoso Vitor Rua. These are orchestrated for quintet on CD #2.


This page was created in 0.14569401741028 seconds