If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PFCD222
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 7141148050366
  • Street Date: 01/12/24
  • PreBook Date: 12/08/23
  • Label: Prima Facie »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Volante Opera Productions - Blithe Spirit: An Opera After The Improbable Farce By Noel Coward

Classical release based on Sir Noel Coward's Blithe Spirit.

Volante Opera Productions - Blithe Spirit: An Opera After The Improbable Farce By Noel Coward
  • List Price: $19.99  
  • Your Price: $19.99
  • In Stock: 36
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

It might seem that there is little new to say about the text of Sir Noel Coward's Blithe Spirit, written as a light-hearted romp. But in point of fact Coward's text has been regarded almost from the very first as open season for directors and producers who wished to adapt and alter the plot for their own reasons. The text as set is very nearly entirely Coward's own following his 1941 script for the play as first presented and published, merely subjected by Julian Boyce and the composer to abridgement rather than any alteration or additions. This recording, like the earlier releases of music by Paul Corfield Godfrey, features soloists from Welsh National Opera, together with an orchestra drawn from live sampled performances which have been carefully balanced and adjusted in collaboration with the composer to obtain as close a result to the sound of an actual orchestra as possible, with results that Brian Wilson writing for MusicWeb International described as "completely convincing".

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Act One, Scene One - Madam Arcati, Mrs Bradman and I
  • Used Elvira to be a Help to You...
  • I'm Afraid I'm Rather Late...
  • It Was Wonderful Cycling Through the Woods this Evening
  • Sunsong Interlude
  • Scene Two - My Control Was Quite Scared the Other Day
  • This is the Moment I Always Hate
  • Sunsong (Gramophone)
  • Is There Anyone There?
  • Leave it Where it is
  • I Suddenly Felt a Draught
  • That Was Enjoyable
  • Perhaps it's as Well
  • Act Two, Scene One - A Good Morning
  • You've Absolutely Ruined That Border by the Sundial
  • I've Done Everything I Can to Help
  • Let Her Have a Nice Cry
  • Ruth... You See That Bowl of Flowers...
  • Interlude
  • Scene Two - Madame Arcati
  • I Appreciate Fully Your Pride...
  • The Time Has Come, Mrs Condomine
  • What On Earth Was Madame Arcati Doing Here?
  • Let Her Go. She'll Calm Down
  • Interlude - The Unmerry Widow Waltz
  • Disc 2:
    • Act Two, Scene Three - Nothing to Worry About...
    • You've Behaved Well For the Last Few Days...
    • She Came Here With One Purpose
    • Look Out!
    • Are You Ready to Go into Folkestone?
    • Hullo... Hullo...
    • Act Three, Scene One - I Threw Up the Sponge!
    • Do You Think She Really Could Get Me Back Again?
    • Madame Arcati, Would You Please Come In Now?
    • Ghostly Spectre, Ghoul or Fiend
    • Is There Anyone There?
    • Intermezzo
    • Scene Two - Well, We've Done All We Can
    • Wake Up, Madame Arcati
    • Damn the Thing, It's Cloudy Again
    • Did You Ring, Sir?
    • They've Gone
    • Ruth? Elvira?
    • Sunsong (Original Version from OP. 52)

This page was created in 0.099966049194336 seconds