If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ARCD19464
  • UPC: 780941146424
  • Street Date: 04/05/19
  • PreBook Date: 03/01/19
  • Label: Arbors »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 58:17 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 40
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Warren Vache - Songs Our Fathers Taught Us

Jazz cornet legend Warren Vache swings hard on thirteen of his favorite tunes for a true jazz treat.

Warren Vache - Songs Our Fathers Taught Us
  • List Price: $13.99  
  • Your Price: $13.99
  • In Stock: 4
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Warren Vache performs here with Jacob Fischer on guitar, Neal Minor on bass and Steve Williams on drums. Improvisation requires as much knowledge as it does trust and these musicians know how to both support and inspire each other.

Let's all pause for just a moment a contemplate what it would be like to live in a home in which your dad taught you to play jazz standards. In this case, what cornetist Warren Vaché remembers are the 78-rpm shellac recordings that his dad had saved up lunch money to buy when he was a schoolboy, and which he played on the family's record player every Saturday morning as Vaché was growing up. ''Melancholy Baby,'' ''Slow Boat to China,'' ''Blue Room,'' like that. Vaché plays these tunes in a soft and gentle way, even on the up-tempo numbers; there's fire in his energy and tone, but cool restraint in his arrangements and phrasing. He's accompanied by acoustic guitarist Jacob Fischer, bassist Neal Miner, and drummer Steve Williams-though the drums lay out for long stretches on this album, contributing to the overall feeling of relaxed warmth. Very, very nice.

Rick Anderson

CD HotList April 2019

Track Listing

  • My Melancholy Baby
  • Key Largo
  • Love Locked Out
  • I Love You
  • Warm Valley
  • I'll Be Around
  • Birk's Works
  • Felicidade
  • The More I See You
  • Deep Night
  • Blue Room
  • There I No Music (For Me)
  • (I'd Like To Get You On A) Slow Boat To China

Press Quotes

Anyone who is familiar with the artistry of WARREN VACHÉ knows that he epitomizes the tasteful side of the jazz spectrum. You also know that Vaché knows a lot of songs, good ones. Vaché, here on cornet, is joined by guitarist Jacob Fischer, bassist Neal Miner and drummer Steve Williams for Songs Our Fathers Taught Us (Arbors - 19464). The program comprises 13 selections mixing the familiar, ''My Melancholy Baby,'' ''I'll Be Around,'' ''The More I See You'' and ''Blue Room;'' good songs that are too often overlooked, ''Key Largo,'' ''Love Locked Out'' and Cole Porter's ''I Love You;'' a couple of jazz tunes, ''Warm Valley'' and Birk's Works;'' and relative obscurities like ''Deep Night'' and a true rarity, ''There Is No Music (For Me)'' by Harry Warren and Ira Gershwin. I am not sure which songs were suggested by which participant, but the program proves to be a winner. Vaché plays with his usual eloquence and Fischer matches him on guitar, while Miner and Williams provide just the kind of support that they deserve. It is evident that the fathers of these cats imbued their offspring with a love for music for the ages.

     —Joseph Lang, Jersey Jazz - June 2019


This page was created in 0.10511898994446 seconds