If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ADDCD3221
  • UPC: 824046322120
  • Street Date: 12/08/17
  • PreBook Date: 11/03/17
  • Label: ACROBAT »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 140 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2017
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Woody Herman - Collection 1937-56

Clarinettist and bandleader Woody Herman was one of the leading figures of the swing era and beyond

Woody Herman - Collection 1937-56
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $14.44
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Clarinettist and bandleader Woody Herman was one of the leading figures of the swing era and beyond, with his various bands, generally known as "Herman's Herd", being known for the force and originality of their music, which was often cutting edge and experimental for its time. However, his records were always very popular, and regularly featured in the Billboard charts from the 1930s through to the 1950s.This collection, unusually perhaps for jazz music, focuses on those chart hits, and primarily comprises the 34 chart hits he had, which included the No. 1 hit "Blues In The Night" and the Top 5 hits "Laura" and "Caldonia". Herman himself was a noted vocalist, and he features as a singer on some of these titles, while others provide a showcase for two of his female singers during the '40s, Frances Wayne and Muriel Lane. Alongside those hits, and interspersed within the chronological presentation of the 44 recordings in the 2-CD collection, are other titles which were not hits, but which are recognised by commentators and critics and being among his most interesting and notable recordings, such as his suite, with Igor Stravinsky conducting, called "The Ebony Concerto". The range of material in this anthology provides a fascinating overview of the Herman's innovative, but always fresh and entertaining music during this dynamic era in jazz and popular music.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • I Double Dare You 
  • Woodchopper's Ball 
  • Blue Evening 
  • There I Go 
  • Frenesi 
  • Blue Flame 
  • G'bye Now 
  • By-U By-O (The Lou'siana Lullaby) 
  • Blues In The Night (My Mama Done Tol' Me) 
  • Rose O'day 
  • Amen 
  • Four Or Five Times 
  • Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me 
  • The Music Stopped 
  • By The River Of The Roses 
  • Milkman, Keep Those Bottles Quiet
  • Let Me Love You Tonight 
  • Saturday Night (Is The Loneliest Night In The Week) 
  • Laura 
  • Apple Honey
  • Caldonia 
  • A Kiss Goodnight 
  • Northwest Passage 
  • Disc 2:
    • Fan It 
    • Gee, It's Good To Hold You 
    • Everybody Knew But Me 
    • Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! 
    • Atlanta, Ga
    • Red Top
    • Hallelujah
    • Surrender 
    • Mabel! Mabel! 
    • Ebony Concerto
    • Lady Mcgowan's Dream
    • Across The Alley From The Alamo 
    • That's My Desire 
    • Civilization (Bongo, Bongo, Bongo) 
    • Sabre Dance 
    • Four Brothers
    • Lemon Drop
    • Early Autumn
    • Blues In Advance
    • Love Is A Many-Splendored Thing 
    • I Don't Want Nobody (To Have My Love But You)

This page was created in 0.16792511940002 seconds